As an organization passionate about giving every child the opportunity to benefit from high quality and fun Welsh-medium early years experiences we are delighted to announce the winners of our annual Awards Ceremony which was held last Saturday (14th October) at Yr Ysgubor, Bargoed Farm near Aberaeron.

The ceremony’s aim is to celebrate and recognise all the excellent work that’s done at grassroot level at Mudiad Meithrin’s Welsh-medium playgroups and day nurseries across Wales, and the ceremony was presented in a very slick and professional manner by Melanie Owen.

The main sponsors for this year’s awards were Portal Training – a leading bilingual training organisation, with its vision set on enhancing workforce capacity.

Leanne Marsh, Head of Services Development for Mudiad Meithrin said:

Our Awards Ceremony was a wonderful way to raise the profile of the workforce and early years settings and shows how important this service is to the local community and to the economy. We received over 300 nominations this year, and it’s a lovely way for the staff and volunteers to be recognised by being nominated by the parents of the children in their care.”

Dr Gwenllian Lansdown Davies, Mudiad Meithrin’s Chief Executive, said:

“The Awards Ceremony gives us an opportunity come together to celebrate, recognise and thank the staff and volunteers at grassroots level for all the fantastic work going on across Wales. Raising the profile of the early years workforce in Wales is key to attracting and recruiting more workers into the childcare sector – particularly through the medium of Welsh – and to show a wider audience the benefits of working in a sector that makes such a positive difference to the lives of young children in Wales.

Volunteer - Rhiannon Hughes, Cylch Meithrin Rhaeadr, Powys
Cylch for All - Cylch Meithrin Penparc, Ceredigion
Assistant - Siobhan Durber, Cylch Meithrin Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
Outside Playing and Learning Area - Cylch Meithrin Pwllheli, Gwynedd
Committee - Cylch Meithrin Dyffryn Banw, Powys
Day Nursery - Meithrinfa Hen Ysgol, Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Leader - Gwen Davies, Cylch Meithrin Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
Learning and Developing - Cylch Meithrin Nant Dyrys, Rhondda Cynon Taf
Learner of the year - Alyssia Edwards, Meithrinfa Cwtsh y Clos, Sir Gâr
Small Cylch Meithrin - Cylch Meithrin Clocaenog, Sir Ddinbych
Ti a Fi - Ti a Fi Yr Wyddgrug, Sir y Fflint (Carys Gwyn yn casglu ar ran y cylch)
Cylch Meithrin South-east - Cylch Meithrin Y Gurnos, Merthyr Tudful
Cylch Meithrin South-west - Cylch Meithrin Pontrhydfendigaid, Ceredigion
Cylch Meithrin North-west - Cylch Meithrin Y Gorlan Fach, Tremadog, Gwynedd
Cylch Meithrin North-east - Cylch Meithrin Min y Ddôl, Wrecsam
National Cylch Meithrin Winner - Cylch Meithrin Pontrhydfendigaid